

Academic Senate

Title 5 Charge:

The Academic Senate is an organization whose primary function is to make recommendations to the Administration and Board of Trustees with respect to academic and professional matters including:

- Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines.
- 2. Degree and certificate requirements.
- 3. Grading policies.
- **4.** Educational program development.
- Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success.
- **6.** District and college governance structures, as related to faculty roles.
- Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation, including self-study and annual reports.
- **8.** Policies for faculty professional development activities.
- 9. Processes for program review.
- Processes for institutional planning and budget development.
- Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the academic senate.

ALLAN HANCOCK COLLEGE Academic Senate Meeting

Agenda for Tuesday, August 23, 2022 4:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Zoom Meeting: https://hancockcollege.zoom.us/j/95506515929

- 1. Call to Order. [2] (AR)
- 2. Rollcall.
- 3. Public Comments. [3-minute limit per individual]
- 4. Approval of Minutes from 4/19/2022. * [5] (NJW)
- 5. President's Remarks. [5] (AR)

PRESENTATION

6. Shared Governance Orientation. [60] (AR/Senate Exec)

CONSENT

None

ACTION ITEMS

None

INFORMATION (FOR FUTURE ACTION/APPROVAL)

None

REPORTS AND DISCUSSIONS (NON-ACTION ITEMS)

- 7. Update on Academic Senate Meetings Modality [10] (AR)
- 8. Accreditation update. [10] (ASE/P. Murphy)
- **9.** CCPD councils and committees' reports. [3 min. each unless otherwise indicated.]
 - Introductions and description of council's functions.
- **10.** Future Agenda Items and Department Suggestions.
- 11. Adjourn.

Next Academic Senate Meeting: September 13, 2022. Agenda Items due by September 6, 2022 @ noon.

- * Documents available on Senate SharePoint.
- **Documents available in previous Senate meeting's SharePoint folder.

2022-2023 Executive Committee Alberto Restrepo (AR), President Fred Patrick (FP), Vice President Nancy Jo Ward (NJW), Secretary Thesa Roepke (TR), Member-at-Large Herb Elliott (HE), Member-at-Large