

Academic Senate Title 5 Charge:

The Academic Senate is an organization whose primary function is to make recommendations to the Administration and Board of Trustees with respect to academic and professional matters including:

1. Curriculum,establishing prerequisites and placing courses withindisciplines;

2. Degree and Certificate requirements;

3. Grading Policies;

4. Educational program development;

5. Standards or policies regardingstudent preparation and success;

6. District and college governancestructures, as related to faculty roles;

7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes;

8. Policies for faculty professional development activities;

9. Processes for program review;

10. Processesfor Institutional Planning and budget development as mutually agreed; and

11. Other Academic and Professional matters as mutually agreed upon. ALLAN HANCOCK COLLEGE Academic Senate

Agenda for Tuesday, September 18, 2018, Boardroom (B100), 4:00-

6:00

- 1. Call to Order [2] (Allegre)
- 2. Public Comment [5 minutelimit)
- 3. Four-Year Degrees [15]
- 4. *Approval of Minutes [5] (Ward) (review and approval of May 15, 2018 minutes)

CONSENT

- 5. *Sabbatical Leave Committee [10] (ASE) (review and approval of committee description)
- 6. *AP 4260 Prerequisites, Corequisites, Advisories [10] (review and approval of revised procedures)
- 7. *2018-19 Faculty Emeritus List [10] (approval of eligible retired faculty for emeritus status)

ACTION

- 8. *Prerequisite Challenge Form [15} (review and approval of revised form)
- 9. * BP/AP 3900 Speech: Time, Place, Manner [15]
- 10. *Free Speech Request Form [10] (review and approval of new policy and procedures)

INFORMATION

- 11. President's Remarks [10] (Allegre)
- 12. * BP/AP 4020 Program, Curriculum, and Course Development {10) [Manalo]
- 13. *AP 4900 Transfer of Credit and Course Waiver [10]

OTHER

Council and Committee Reports (as needed)

*documents on Senate group site

2017-2018 Executive Committee

Marla Allegre (MA), President Gary Bierly (GB), Vice President Nancy Jo Ward (NJW), Secretary Juanita Tuan (JT), Member-at-Large Herb Elliott (HE), Member-at-Large