

Academic Senate Title 5 Charge:

The Academic Senate is an organization whose primary function is to make recommendations to the Administration and Board of Trustees with respect to academic and professional matters including:

- 1. Curriculum, establishing prerequisites and placing courses withindisciplines;
- 2. Degree and Certificate requirements;
- 3. Grading Policies;
- 4. Educational program development;
- 5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success;
- 6. District and college governancestructures, as related to faculty roles;
- 7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes;
- 8. Policies for faculty professional development activities;
- 9. Processes for program review;
- 10. Processes for Institutional Planning and budget development as mutually agreed; and
- 11. Other Academic and Professional matters as mutually agreed upon.

ALLAN HANCOCK COLLEGE Academic Senate

Agenda for Tuesday, May 15, 2018, Boardroom (B100), 4:00-6:00

- 1. Call to Order [2] (Allegre)
- 2. Public Comment [5 minutelimit)
- 3. KornFerry Climate Survey [15] (Murphy)
- 4. *Approval of Minutes [5] (Murtha) (review and approval of April 17, 2018 minutes)

ACTION

- 5. * Resolution on CCCCO [10] (consideration of no confidence vote)
- 6. *BP 7310 Favoritism [10] (Roepke) (approval of revised policy)

CONSENT

- 7. *BP/AP 3900 Speech: Time, Place, Manner [10] (approval of revised board policy & administrative procedures)
- *Regular Substantive Contact Policy and Checklist [10] (Patrick) (approval of updated policy)
- 9. Round 2 Local SWP Applications [10] (Lau) (approval of proposed projects for funding)
- 10. *June 12 AP & P Curriculum Report [10] (Manalo) (review and approval of report)

INFORMATION

- 11. President's Remarks [10] (Allegre)
 --Sabbatical Committee
- 12. Starfish Initiative [15] (Britten)
- 13. Professional Standard Committee Report [5] (Montanez-Rodriguez)
- *documents on Senate group site

2017-2018 Executive Committee
Marla Allegre (MA), President
Gary Bierly (GB), Vice President
Nancy Jo Ward (NJW), Secretary
Juanita Tuan (JT), Member-at-Large
Herb Elliott (HE), Member-at-Large