Get Free Cash for College! Attend a Free Workshop to Complete the Application Process

There will be a total of 42 workshops from Oct. 2019 through Feb. 2020 throughout Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo counties

SEPTEMBER 20, 2019 -- Parents and students can significantly reduce the cost of college attendance by taking advantage of free Cash for College workshops beginning this October.

The Central Coast Cal-SOAP Consortium at Allan Hancock College and Cuesta College are co-sponsoring a series of workshops to help students and parents complete and submit financial aid forms that could result in students being awarded thousands of dollars for college.

There will be a total of 42 workshops from October 2019 through February 2020 throughout Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo counties. Spanish-speaking staff will be available at all locations. The free workshops are intended for high school seniors and their parents. No reservations are required, and the application process takes about one hour to complete. 

At each workshop, staff will be available to help students fill out a FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) or a California Dream Act application. Students will also be able to apply for state and federal grants, including a Cal Grant, which offers cash for college and does not have to be repaid.

Students and parents can attend any of these workshops, even if the workshops are not held at the high school campus they currently attend. Current Hancock students can also attend the workshops to renew their FASFA applications.

Students can find the free FAFSA application online at www.fafsa.ed.gov and the California Dream Act application at www.caldreamact.org.The Cal Grant GPA verification form is available at www.csac.ca.gov, but students should check with their high school counselor before submitting the form. Because counselors are required to complete part of this form, some high schools may submit a Cal Grant GPA verification for the student. Both forms must be postmarked and sent to the California Student Aid Commission by March 2, 2020.

Those planning to attend a workshop should bring the following information and items with them:

  • Completed income tax forms from 2018 for parents and high school seniors, including W2’s
  • Student’s and parent’s Social Security Number (if available)
  • Records of untaxed income such as welfare benefits (optional)
  • Social Security benefits, or child support payments
  • Bank statements (optional)
  • Business records (optional)
  • Permanent resident or DACA card (if a student is not a U.S. citizen)
  • A list of colleges the student is interested in attending

In addition to grants, the FAFSA and California Dream Act applications may also provide an opportunity for low-interest loans. Current high school seniors, college students and any adult 18 years of age or older interested in attending college should apply to be considered for grants and scholarships.

The Middle Class Scholarship is also available for families with incomes and assets up to $177,000. To be eligible, students must complete a FAFSA by the March 2 deadline and enroll at a UC or CSU campus.

For information about the local workshops, email Diana Perez at dperez@hancockcollege.edu, or call the Central Coast Cal-SOAP office at 1-805-922-6966, ext. 3710, or toll-free 1-866-DIAL AHC (342-5242), ext. 3710. To learn more about Cal-SOAP visit www.hancockcollege.edu/cal-soap.

For additional information on Cal Grants, log on to http://www.calgrants.org or call toll-free 888-CA-GRANT (224-7268).

 

Workshop dates and locations are:

DATE

TIME

SCHOOL

Tue, Oct. 1

4-8 p.m.

Paso Robles High School, Library (A-I)

Wed, Oct. 2

2-8 p.m.

Paso Robles High School, Library (J-Q)

Thu, Oct. 3

4-8 p.m.

Paso Robles High School, Library (R-Z)

Mon, Oct. 7

4-8 p.m.

Nipomo High School, Library

Tue, Oct. 8

4-8 p.m.

Lilian Larsen Elementary School, Library, San Miguel

Tue, Oct. 8

3-7 p.m.

Pioneer Valley High School, Library

Wed, Oct. 9

4-8 p.m.

Nipomo High School, Library

Thu, Oct. 10

3-7 p.m.

Pioneer Valley High School, Library

Mon, Oct. 14

3-8 p.m.

Cabrillo High School, Room B-8

Tue, Oct. 15

3-8 p.m.

Cabrillo High School, Room B-8

Wed, Oct. 16

3-8 p.m.

Cabrillo High School, Room B-8

Thu, Oct. 17

3-8 p.m.

Cabrillo High School, Room B-8

Mon, Oct. 21

3-7 p.m.

Lompoc High School, Computer Lab,

Room P1-B

Tue, Oct. 22

2-7 p.m.

Santa Maria High School, Library (A-H)

Wed, Oct. 23

2-7 p.m.

Santa Maria High School, Library (I-P)

Thu, Oct. 24

2-7 p.m.

Santa Maria High School, Library (Q-Z)

Tue, Oct. 29

4-7 p.m.

Santa Ynez High School, Library

Wed, Oct. 30

3-7 p.m.

Righetti High School, Plato Labs, Rooms 621/622

Tue, Nov. 5

4-7 p.m.

Delta High School, Room 204

Wed, Nov. 6

4-7 p.m.

Arroyo Grande High School, Library

Wed, Nov. 13

2-6 p.m.

Maple High School

Thu, Nov. 14

4-7 p.m.

Cuesta College, SLO campus bldg. 3400

Tue, Nov. 26

8-11 a.m.

Grizzly Youth Academy (not open to the public)

Tue, Dec. 3

3-7 p.m.

Pioneer Valley High School, Library

Wed, Dec. 4

4-8 p.m.

Arroyo Grande High School, Library

Thu, Dec. 5

3-7 p.m.

Pioneer Valley High School, Library

Wed, Dec. 11

2-7 p.m.

Santa Maria High School, Library

Wed, Jan. 29

4-7 p.m.

Delta High School, Room 204

Mon, Feb. 3

3-7 p.m.

Lompoc High School, Computer Lab,

Room P1-B

Tue, Feb. 4

3-7 p.m.

Righetti High School, Plato Labs, Rooms 621/622

Wed, Feb. 5

2-8 p.m.

Paso Robles High School, Library

Thu, Feb. 6

4-7 p.m.

Cuesta College, SLO campus bldg. 3400

Tue, Feb. 11

4-7 p.m.

Arroyo Grande High School, Library

Wed, Feb. 12

2-7 p.m.

Santa Maria High School, Library

Thu, Feb. 13

4-8 p.m.

Paso Robles High School, Library

Tue, Feb. 18

4-8 p.m.

Nipomo High School, Library

Wed, Feb. 19

4-8 p.m.

Nipomo High School, Library

Thu, Feb. 20

3-6 p.m.

Allan Hancock College, building A, Room A103

Thu, Feb. 20

4-8 p.m.

Nipomo High School, Library

Tue, Feb. 25

3-7 p.m.

Pioneer Valley High School, Library

Wed, Feb. 26

4-7 p.m.

Cuesta College North County Campus, 2800 Buena Vista Dr., Paso Robles 93446 (Bldg./Rm. TBA)

Thu, Feb. 27

3-6 p.m.

Allan Hancock College, building A, Room A103


- AHC -

Top of Page

Last Modified Sep 20, 2019