Get Free Cash for College! Attend a Free Workshop to Complete Application Process

Workshops will be held from October to February 2019

SEPTEMBER 14, 2018--Parents and students can reduce the cost of college attendance by taking advantage of free Cash for College workshops.

The Central Coast Cal-SOAP Consortium at Allan Hancock College and Cuesta College are cosponsoring a series of workshops to help students and parents complete and submit financial aid forms that could result in thousands of dollars for college. More than half of community college’s students receive financial assistance each year.

There will be a total of 34 workshops from October 2018 to February 2019 throughout San Luis Obispo and Santa Barbara counties. Spanish-speaking staff will be available at all locations. The free workshops are intended for high school seniors and their parents. No reservations are required. The application process takes about one hour to complete. 

At each workshop, staff will be on hand to help students fill out a FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) or a California Dream Act application, as well as apply for state and federal grants, including a Cal Grant. Cal Grants offer cash for college that does not have to be repaid!

The Cal Grant program is the California Student Aid Commission’s merit- and need-based financial aid program. In order to be eligible, there are a few simple qualifications: high school students must be seniors or recent graduates, have at least a 2.0 GPA and complete a FAFSA or California Dream Act application by the March 2 deadline. Students could receive as much as $12,630 annually for college.

Students can find the free FAFSA application online at www.fafsa.ed.gov and the California Dream Act application at www.caldreamact.org.The Cal Grant GPA verification form is available at www.csac.ca.gov, but students should check with their high school counselor before submitting the form. Since counselors are required to complete part of this form, some high schools may submit the Cal Grant GPA verification for the student. Both forms must be sent to the California Student Aid Commission and postmarked by March 2, 2019.

Those planning to attend a workshop should bring the following information and items with them:

  • Completed income tax forms from 2017 for parents and high school seniors
  • Students Social Security number and driver’s license (if available)
  • Parents Social Security number (if available)
  • Records of untaxed income such as welfare benefits
  • Social Security benefits, or child support payments
  • Bank statements from 2017
  • Business records
  • Permanent resident or DACA card (if a student is not a U.S. citizen)
  • A list of colleges the student is interested in attending

In addition to grants, the FAFSA and California Dream Act applications may also provide an opportunity for low-interest loans. Current high school seniors, college students and any adult 18 years of age or older interested in attending college should apply to be considered for grants and scholarships.

The Middle Class Scholarship is also available for families with incomes and assets up to $150,000. To be eligible, students must complete a FAFSA by the March 2 deadline and enroll at a UC or CSU campus.

For information about the local workshops, email Diana Perez at dperez@hancockcollege.edu, or call the Central Coast Cal-SOAP office at 1-805-922-6966, ext. 3710, or toll free 1-866-DIAL AHC (342-5242), ext. 3710. To learn more about Cal-SOAP visit www.hancockcollege.edu/cal-soap.

For additional information on Cal Grants, log on to http://www.calgrants.org or call toll-free 888-CA-GRANT (224-7268).

Workshop dates and locations are:

DATE

TIME

SCHOOL

Mon, Oct. 1

4-8 p.m.

Lilian Larsen Elementary School, Library

Tue, Oct. 2

2-8 p.m.

Paso Robles High School, Library (A-J)

Wed, Oct. 3

12-7 p.m.

Paso Robles High School, Library (K-R)

Thu, Oct. 4

2-8 p.m.

Paso Robles High School, Library (S-Z)

Mon, Oct 8 

4-8 p.m.

Nipomo High School, Library

Tue, Oct. 9 

3-7 p.m.

Pioneer Valley High School, Library

Wed, Oct 10

3-7 p.m.

Lompoc High School, Computer Lab,
Room P1-B

Mon, Oct. 15

4-8 p.m.

Arroyo Grande High School, Rooms 958/959

Tue, Oct. 16

2-7 p.m.

Santa Maria High School, Library (A-H)

Wed, Oct. 17

2-7 p.m.

Santa Maria High School, Library (I-P)

Thu, Oct 18

2-7 p.m.

Santa Maria High School, Library (Q-Z)

Thu, Oct 25

4-7 p.m.

Santa Ynez Valley High School, Library

Thu, Nov. 1

3-7 p.m.

Righetti High School, Plato Labs,
Rooms 621/622

Mon, Nov. 5

4-8 p.m.

Arroyo Grande High School, Rooms 958/959

Tue, Nov. 6

4-7 p.m.

Delta High School, Room 204

Wed, Nov. 7

3-7 p.m.

Cabrillo High School, Room B8

Thu, Nov. 8 

4-7 p.m. 

Delta High School, Room 204

Sat, Nov. 10

4-7 p.m.

Delta High School, Room 204

Tue, Nov. 13

2-6 p.m.

Allan Hancock College, Room A103

Thu, Nov. 15

4-7 p.m.

Cuesta College, SLO campus bldg. 3400

Wed, Nov. 21

8-11 a.m.

Grizzly Youth Academy (not open to the public)

Wed, Nov. 28

3-7 p.m.

Lompoc High School, Computer Lab,
Room P1-B

Wed, Dec. 5

3-7 p.m.

Pioneer Valley High School, Library

Thu, Dec. 6

3-8 p.m.

Santa Maria High School, Library

Mon, Jan. 28

4-8 p.m.

Nipomo High School, Library

Thu, Jan. 31

4-7 p.m.

Cuesta College, SLO campus bldg. 3400

Mon, Feb. 4

4-8 p.m.

Arroyo Grande High School, Rooms 958/959

Tue, Feb 5

3-7 p.m.

Lompoc High School, Computer Lab
Room P1-B

Wed, Feb. 6

3-8 p.m. 

Cabrillo High School, Room B8

Wed, Feb. 6

3-7 p.m.

Righetti High School, Plato Labs,|
Rooms 621/622

Thu, Feb. 7

3-8 p.m.

Santa Maria High School, Library

Tue, Feb. 12

2-6 p.m.

Allan Hancock College, Room A103

Wed, Feb. 13

3-8 p.m.

Paso Robles High School, Library

Wed, Feb. 27

3-7 p.m.

Pioneer Valley High School, Library


- AHC -

Top of Page

Last Modified Oct 23, 2018